FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Sun Sep 14, 2014 11:02 pm

advice for tweaking a ribbon that spits? My system.

<<

lawdog10231

Newbie 50+

Post Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:27 pm

advice for tweaking a ribbon that spits? My system.

This is a cut and paste of my introductory post. It's lengthy but I hope it's sufficiently interesting that someone will read it and help me with a potential problem--should my ribbon start spitting once more!

Newbie to the board here. I am a retired lawyer and an obsessive compulsive high end audio tweak. And I love classical music, jazz (and some rock from the 60s and 70s to celebrate my long lost youth.)

I used to have Infinity Betas and mega expensive amplifiers to drive them but they didn't survive a divorce about 10 years ago. I found an original pair of Carver Amazing Loudspeakers--the ones with honeycombed woofers and two 30" ribbons per for $500 on Craig's List. I still had two original Sunfire amps so I vertically bi-amped the speakers after buying a second pair of crossovers on Ebay.

I swapped out all the electrolytics and bypass caps on the boards with real expensive polypropylenes from Spain some of which are so huge and heavy that they took a couple of weeks to fully charge and sound right. I also rewired the speakers with seven strands of audiophile cable 4 strands from Kimber 8TC anf three from an obscure audiophile interconnect manufacturer who uses three wires of pure gold, silver and copper.

For the woofers to the crossover I wound each wire back into the mass of wire counterclockwise and made seven winds-no matter how long the actual wire run was. For the ribbons, I twisted two sets of two Kimber copper strands and wove them together with the three gold,silver and copper strands which were already woven together.