Linux Media Servers

Digital / WiFi / iPod Media Discussion
bob p
SILVER-7t

Linux Media Servers

Post by bob p » Mon Sep 24, 2007 1:58 pm

Instead of hijacking the MP# / iPod / CD / LP thread with talk of Linux File Servers, I thought I'd start a new thread in response to this post:
garcianc wrote:
Toy Maker wrote: Ok, not to knock you, but you will need something better than iTunes to listen to FLAC files, I have DL'd a few FLAC albums, and they DO sound as good as a CD, I think.
iTunes won't play FLAC files I learned. One of the reasons I still use Winamp with the free FLAC addon.
I only use iTunes to load my iPod, and iPhone...

At home or in the office I use Winamp
I'm not an iTunes expert but, if you can get the proper codec loaded, you should be able to listen to FLAC files on your platform of choice. FLAC is "Lossless", as the name implies, so it should sound pretty close to the CD recording. Of course, unless you have a decent sound card, you may not get the full benefit. FLAC files are also pretty big which makes the convenience argument lose ground. I personally don't recommend the format for "portable" use (i.e. iPod, car), since almost anywhere you take music with you is going to be a noisy environment.

I have a combination of FLACs and MP3s in my media server, which runs Linux. I like Winamp but I prefer Amarok or VLC for streaming. The server uses my Outlaw 990 pre/pro as an external sound card (connected via USB), which means it takes advantage of the Outlaw's DACs. Although I have a couple of recordings on both FLAC and MP3 format that I can't tell apart, I also have come across some pretty painful-sounding MP3s that I just delete. I guess the saying "Your Mileage May Vary" applies particularly in this case.