FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 7:13 am

Carver speakers

<<

ddhoferjr

Post Sun Jan 23, 2011 4:38 pm

Carver speakers

Hello everyone,
I'm a newbie and a Carver Nut! I need some advice on a 2 channel speaker setup. I'm currently runnning a M-4.0t and also have a TFM-55 and 2PM1.5's I'm not using. I'm wanting to purchase a pair a Carver speakers but dont know which ones to purchase. Imagine that!! I think that I would like to stay @ 8ohms. Im currently running Cerwin vega D9's with my Carver M-4.0t. Sounds fairly well, but I'm looking for more accurate and crystal clear music and extra punch when I need it. I want to hear the strings when they are played. The Cervin Vegas are 4 - 8 ohms. I would really like to stay with one amp. Any imputs would be appreciated. I understand that the Carver Amazing are really hard to drive. Im looking at a pair at the present time but they have only 3 woofers. Would it be better to go with the AL111 or AL111plus.
Thanks and good day.
DH
<<

frankieD

Frankie The Mouth

Post Sun Jan 23, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Carver speakers

Welcome to the Foirum.

What you have (3 woofers) are Amazing "Silver Edition". I have a set and they are great.

I believe they are 8 ohm and easier to drive than their big brothers, and sound as good unless you have a high school gym size room.

They do like power though. At least 350 wpc and more IS BETTER !

They won't thump like your CV but are very accurate & revealing. The bass is very full and (my opinion) realistic. Less "slamming" but more like what you would hear live.

Good Luck.
<<

engtaz

"TAZ"

Post Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:53 pm

Welcome
engtaz

Carver M4.0T in front channels to Caver AL VI's in SACD & 2 Channel setup
C 16, PT 2400, Slim Device, Carver TX-8, 490T and Rega TT w Grado Gold cart in the 2 channel setup
Bogen SRB20 is computer amp
Carver PM-350 donated for youth church use
<<

Scarabeo

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Post Sun Jan 23, 2011 6:18 pm