FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:05 am

Carver AL III + woofer problem

<<

les korcala

Post Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:11 pm

Carver AL III + woofer problem

Hello,
I am new to thid webside ( I am glad I found it )
O own pair of AL III + Carvers and one of the woofers is bad , all I hear is very destorted sound in low levels!
Not sure is is crossover or the magnet on the woofer itself gone.
I checked cone and the sleve on the speaker and is all good and tight!

I swap diferent amps to see if one of the amp's chanell was gone, but that is all good.
Not sure , if there is another way to test bad woofer?
I curentlly run Only me ribbons with one Amp and use external Sub amp & subwoofer. Sound is awesome! but still would love to fix my problem.
Than you all for your time and any tips you might have.
Thanks,
Les

Carver AL III + Ribbons
2 Chiro C-200 amps
1 Chiro C- 190 mono amp
Chiro Mesa C-150 sub
Chiro C-800 Pre amp
<<

treitz3

"Julian"
"Julian"

Post Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:26 pm

First off, welcome to the forum. Do you have dual binding posts on your ALIII's?
In search of accurate reproduction of music. Real sound is my reference and while perfection may not be attainable? If I chase it, I might just catch excellence.

The best way to enjoy digital music reproduction is to never listen to a good analogue reproduction.
<<

Magnaryder

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Post Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:37 pm

Eminence produced the ALIII woofers that I have. Part# on mine is 618-00004-01

ray
Magnaryder

Its going to be used equipment when I sell it, so it may as well be used equipment when I buy it.

<<

les korcala

Post Wed Aug 08, 2007 2:09 am

AL III + woofer problem

Yes , they have 2 pairs of biding posts, one for the ribbons and other for subs.

Thanks for the tip on the woofers model.
Since those are original, they might just gone bad, but I am not sure?
Again, there has to be way to check them if they are shot or other part of the speaker etc..