FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:58 am

Will a cube run my center bridged?

<<

rolereversal

User avatar

TFM-25

Posts: 348

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 4:22 pm

Location: Maple Ridge BC Canada

Post Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:10 pm

Will a cube run my center bridged?

Just wonder if a carver cube amp will run the 48" ribbon ok in mono?
Thanks Jean
<<

TNRabbit

User avatar

R.I.P. Friend
R.I.P. Friend

Posts: 13360

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:53 am

Location: TN Native Languishing in VA

Post Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:22 pm

Well, I don't have the cube, but I'd be surprised if you can run a Carver ribbon in bridge mode with any amp without heat issues. Any cube owners care to comment?
TNRabbit
Image

From FrankieD's lips to your ears: Sunfire - a quiet box of endless power.

Sunfire TG-IV/400~7 Amp
Carver SD/A-360 CDP
Benchmark DAC-1
Sony SACD/DVD-A
Active bi-amp: Ashly XR-1001 & 2 Rane PEQ-15s
Main: HotRodded AL-IIIs
Sub: Klipsch RT-12d
Center: Sunfire CRS-3c
Surround: Sunfire CRS-3 (x 2)

OconeeOrange wrote:"Gary likes to play it 'loud' as do I. His system begs you turn it up until you die"

RIP WIlliam B. Dibble, 1948-2012. I'll miss you my friend.
<<

BillD

User avatar

R.I.P. Friend
R.I.P. Friend

Posts: 7126

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:29 pm

Location: The west's most mid-western town, Scottsdale, Arizona

Post Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:33 pm

I depends. You can run it bridged into 8R ok, but it gets a little muddy into 4. That ribbon will dip into the 2s, I think, so it wouldn't be a good choice in bridged mode. You could run one channel, though. What you really need is a 7t or 9t!

I tried to run a bridged M400 into a nominal 6R load (M&K S-125 C) and didn't like it too well. Got the Sunfire 400x7, and one of it's channels made a big difference.
It should sound like it isn't there!
There is a difference between hearing and listening...
Making life enjoyable through expensive electronics.
_________________
Carver: C-4000 & C-1 preamps, PSC-60 preamp/tuner, TX-11a tuner, M-400 (2), C-500, M-500, M-500t, M-500t Mk.II, A-500x, AL-III loudspeakers (2 pr.)
Sunfire:Theater Grand III processor, Ultimate Receiver, Cinema Grand Signature 400 ~ seven, True Subwoofer Mk. II, D-10 Subwoofer
<<

OBI56

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 4885

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:52 am

Location: You ... OFF MY PLANET!

Post Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:28 pm

Hi Jean,

The Cube, or most of the other Carver SS amps for that matter, will definitely not run a ribbon in Bridged mode due to the very low impedance. An AV-753, AV-63 or one of the Pro amps which could run 4 ohm loads in a stable fashion would be better choices. Or, naturally, a 7t or 9t ... O:)
Why let facts or common sense get in the way of your opinions.
<<

audioassassin77

TFM-45

Posts: 549

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 5:59 pm

Location: canada

Post Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:07 pm

very sticky situation 4R(nominal) loads and almost any amplifier when bridged.
if Carver is a must 7t or 9t or run one channel(right hand if i remember) off of a m1.0t,m1.5t,m500t or m4.0t.
other options are available tho.
marantz makes small shoe box sized monoblocks that are designed for home theatre use and deliver around 200wpc@4R. i only mention these as they are very easy to come by used and are very reasonable price wise. of course if $ dont matter there are a lot of higher end monoblocks around.
btw.
the answer is yes a Cube will run your ribbon. however it will run hotter than usual, you will suffer the lack of sonic bliss that you should get from your ribbon and if driven to high levels you can cause hurt to the amp ribbon or both.
i have tried to use cubes in the past to power 48" ribbons. at low volume it was clear to me from the SQ alone this wasnt the way i wanted to go.

my advice???
if at all an option,why not build another ribbon center for the rear center channel(6.1)?
.....a VULGAR DISPLAY OF POWER.

I am slowly going CRAZY 123456 switch..CRAZY going slowly am I 654321 switch.
<<

maddmaxxx

User avatar

(Pair of Silver 9t's)

Posts: 2951

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:18 pm

Location: the World We Skate Our 'Choppers' Thru

Post Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:39 pm

-believe the 'a'series amps can do the task[2ohms]


-woulda thunk a 'cube' could do the job ?[350w@4R , ribbon=max ?]
-* © Küül ®™ /mx...
-Too hip gotta book
-"Don't BAN me Bro!"...el/doro
<<

OBI56

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 4885

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:52 am

Location: You ... OFF MY PLANET!

Post Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:01 pm

As far as I can understand, the M-400t can only support an 8 ohm load when bridged outputting 500 watts. The 4 ohm, unbridged rating is 250 watts per channel and as far as I can determine, the cube is not able to run only 1 channel at a time and "borrow" power from the other like the 4.0t can. I can't find anything about the A series amps that indicates that they can handle a 2 ohm load anywhere in the specifications, so if anyone has anything on this, please send it to me.
Why let facts or common sense get in the way of your opinions.
<<

maddmaxxx

User avatar

(Pair of Silver 9t's)

Posts: 2951

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:18 pm

Location: the World We Skate Our 'Choppers' Thru

Post Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:37 pm

-quote; I can't find anything about the A series amps that indicates that they can handle a 2 ohm load anywhere in the specifications, so if anyone has anything on this,



-a760x'factoid', trust me on this one nipper
-* © Küül ®™ /mx...
-Too hip gotta book
-"Don't BAN me Bro!"...el/doro
<<

OBI56

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 4885

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:52 am

Location: You ... OFF MY PLANET!

Post Thu Jan 03, 2008 11:09 pm

Ah, that explains things maxxx, no specs or information at all for the A-760X in the specs table, only the model number. Do you happen to have any info for me to add to the database?
Why let facts or common sense get in the way of your opinions.
<<

BillD

User avatar

R.I.P. Friend
R.I.P. Friend

Posts: 7126

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:29 pm

Location: The west's most mid-western town, Scottsdale, Arizona

Post Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:47 am

I have an A-500x and it only gives the specs for bridged into 8R (800 W). But it does give 4R and 2R ratings per channel (400 and 750, respectively).
It should sound like it isn't there!
There is a difference between hearing and listening...
Making life enjoyable through expensive electronics.
_________________
Carver: C-4000 & C-1 preamps, PSC-60 preamp/tuner, TX-11a tuner, M-400 (2), C-500, M-500, M-500t, M-500t Mk.II, A-500x, AL-III loudspeakers (2 pr.)
Sunfire:Theater Grand III processor, Ultimate Receiver, Cinema Grand Signature 400 ~ seven, True Subwoofer Mk. II, D-10 Subwoofer
<<

rolereversal

User avatar

TFM-25

Posts: 348

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 4:22 pm

Location: Maple Ridge BC Canada

Post Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:48 am

audioassassin77 wrote:my advice???
if at all an option,why not build another ribbon center for the rear center channel(6.1)?


:-$ Not sure where we'd fit that... nice thought you never know....Teehee

Wow thanks for all the info guys.... I'd of course love to have a couple 7 or 9t's but just not in the budget right now..still waiting for the tfm55 to arrive for the l&r's can't wait to hear it perhaps thats the way to go down the road another tfm55 would most likely be a good match?
Just saw that the cubes are pretty cheap so wondered if they'd do the trick.
<<

OBI56

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 4885

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:52 am

Location: You ... OFF MY PLANET!

Post Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:56 am

The cubes are relatively inexpensive, but they are most certainly not cheap ... LOL!!!! Let me do some more research on possible alternatives for you Jean and I'll get back to you in a few days.
Why let facts or common sense get in the way of your opinions.
<<

rolereversal

User avatar

TFM-25

Posts: 348

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 4:22 pm

Location: Maple Ridge BC Canada

Post Fri Jan 04, 2008 2:23 pm

Thanks OBI
<<

tfm75

User avatar

SILVER-7t

Posts: 1187

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:37 pm

Post Fri Jan 04, 2008 2:37 pm

Re: Will a cube run my center bridged?

rolereversal wrote:Just wonder if a carver cube amp will run the 48" ribbon ok in mono?
Thanks Jean


I would not go with bridging a M-400 with your ribbon. For a cost saving idea ,use what your powering your main speakers with right now on your center ch after you get your TFM-55.

The M-400 has a boat load of power just not happy if pushed into low ohms the little case for the M-400 can't get rid of the heat fast enough and will go into protect.

If you were going to have a 8 ohm speaker hooked to it I would say go for it hands down.

Just my 2 cents
<<

rolereversal

User avatar

TFM-25

Posts: 348

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 4:22 pm

Location: Maple Ridge BC Canada

Post Fri Jan 04, 2008 2:56 pm

I have given the sansui amp back to my friend...other wise I would use it for a while.
Next

Return to Carver Speakers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2011 phpBB Group.