It is currently Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:38 pm

Carver C-19 Reference Tubed Pre-Amp blowing fuses

<<

Odysseous

Newbie 50+

Post Sat Jun 19, 2010 11:19 pm

Carver C-19 Reference Tubed Pre-Amp blowing fuses

Hi guys,

I hope somebody can point me in the right direction: I've been enjoying my Polk Audio SRS 3.1TL with my Carver equipment, but today, my C-19 Reference Tube Pre-Amp didn't turn on. I opened it up and noticed the 1/2 Amp fuse was blown. I immediately ran to Radio Shack and bought 4 of those fuses. Drove home like a maniac and installed one of the fuses... a mini fireworks show happened inside the fuse and of course the fuse was blown... the other 3 fuses suffered the same fate... can anybody point me in the right direction as to what could be wrong? I'm not an electrician, but I'm not afraid of open stuff up, use a multi-meter to check resistance, etc and replace components using a soldering gun, I just don't know where to start checking...

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
<<

F1nut

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Post Sat Jun 19, 2010 11:25 pm

Re: Carver C-19 Reference Tubed Pre-Amp blowing fuses

Your best bet is to send it in for repair.
Political Correctness...defined

A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

In a recent press conference, President Obama remarked, "If I had a city, it would look just like Detroit."
<<

Odysseous

Newbie 50+

Post Sat Jun 19, 2010 11:30 pm

Hi F1Nut... the shirt on your profile picture says it all about the advice you just gave me! FUNNY! ( I don't mean that in an unrespectfull way, I really thought it was funny. )
<<

TNRabbit

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Post Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:30 am

We have a couple of techs on the forum, but they may not be on everyday. Give it a couple of days....
TNRabbit