Loud 'Pop" on CT-6 Preamp when switching input source

If you have Carver repair questions, or can help other users with repairs, this is the place for it
Post Reply
User avatar
jjptkd
SILVER-7 TUBE AMP
Posts: 3054
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:50 pm
Location: Snohomish, WA

Re: Loud 'Pop" on CT-6 Preamp when switching input source

Post by jjptkd » Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:59 pm

Send it back and chew that guys ass! :x No sense it takin' in someone else's garbage and payin' 'em to do so!! [-( Lots of good working units out fairly cheap.
Oppo Sonica DAC
Sunfire TG-III
Sunfire 300x2
Klipsch Chorus II

User avatar
kingman
(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs
Posts: 6383
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:10 pm
Location: Upstate South Carolina

Re: Loud 'Pop" on CT-6 Preamp when switching input source

Post by kingman » Fri Nov 25, 2011 4:59 am

I'm in total agreement. Get your money back and buy another before you DO regret it!
In reality, it only matters what it sounds like to YOU!!!

User avatar
radioeng2
SILVER-7 TUBE AMP
Posts: 2700
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: E TN

Re: Loud 'Pop" on CT-6 Preamp when switching input source

Post by radioeng2 » Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:09 pm

This usually would indicate that DC is present where it shouldn't be. Likely a bad blocking cap. If one's bad, then it's time for all of them to be replaced.

So with a little circuit knowledge, a volt meter and a less than a $5 cap, it might be fixed. On the other hand, whatever the going rate is for a shop to do a full run thru is the other end of the spectrum. Someone that's had that done could better put a price on that than I can, but what...probably $150-200?

Mark

PS...yes, you should be concerned about spkr damage!
I was there "At the Fest!" Hope you were too!

Post Reply

Return to “CARVER Equipment Repair/Help Forum”