Offset problem with TFM-55?

If you have Carver repair questions, or can help other users with repairs, this is the place for it
frankieD
Frankie The Mouth
Posts: 2700
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: So Cal

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by frankieD » Wed Oct 29, 2008 5:46 pm

This thread has been like a soap opera. The days of our lives. I'd check in each day to see what new discovery or problem would show up. All the while, in the background was the sure knowlege that RichP would come through and save the day (amp).

And Brit01, what determination and grit! Failure just isn't in your vocabulary.

This has been a great thread and this forum ROCKS indeed!

Thank you both and congrats on a job well done.

FrankieD

User avatar
brit01
TFM-45
Posts: 580
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by brit01 » Wed Oct 29, 2008 5:57 pm

don't forget about that 1/4 watt resistor you had in there temporarily
Thanks for the reminder. I changed these last Monday. Some nice new 2 watt metal film ones.
Going to replace a lot of them on the right channel to get everything up to date and matching.
This thread has been like a soap opera. The days of our lives. I'd check in each day to see what new discovery or problem would show up. All the while, in the background was the sure knowlege that RichP would come through and save the day (amp).

And Brit01, what determination and grit! Failure just isn't in your vocabulary.

This has been a great thread and this forum ROCKS indeed!

Thank you both and congrats on a job well done.
Certainly has. Thks for the compliments. I've really enjoyed this stuff. Couldn't wait to get home from work to get to work on my amp again.

I couldn't settle just for a mediocre job as you could see.
Job's not finished yet remember.

I'll keep you all updated.

\:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX

User avatar
brit01
TFM-45
Posts: 580
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by brit01 » Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:24 am

Ok back to original thread.
Quote:
Just discharge them first! I use this:



Quote:
MANY experience amp techs have shorted across the terminals to discharge the caps & blown up Magnetic Field amps. You can NOT do that with the Carver amps.....



:-k :-k :-k :-k

Guys you are confusing me now.

Would discharging them with a light bulb cause possible damage??
Do I just take them out and put in the new caps without discharging?
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX

User avatar
BillD
R.I.P. Friend
R.I.P. Friend
Posts: 7126
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: The west's most mid-western town, Scottsdale, Arizona

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by BillD » Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:37 am

Don't do that unless you like surprises. Read my PM.
It should sound like it isn't there!
There is a difference between hearing and listening...
Making life enjoyable through expensive electronics.
_________________
Carver: C-4000 & C-1 preamps, PSC-60 preamp/tuner, TX-11a tuner, M-400 (2), C-500, M-500, M-500t, M-500t Mk.II, A-500x, AL-III loudspeakers (2 pr.)
Sunfire:Theater Grand III processor, Ultimate Receiver, Cinema Grand Signature 400 ~ seven, True Subwoofer Mk. II, D-10 Subwoofer

User avatar
brit01
TFM-45
Posts: 580
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by brit01 » Sat Nov 01, 2008 12:21 pm

What kind of diodes are these? You know the previous cowboy tech cut most of the legs on the right channel and resoldered them? Well I want to replace these for nice new ones. Can you see them here?
http://www.electronica.com.uy/index.php?cPath=331_21_27
Also the 175 WIV? Is this the coding? #-o What do I need to ask for here?

Could these be used for the second one?
http://www.electronica.com.uy/product_i ... cts_id=155
diodes.JPG
diodes.JPG (8.06 KiB) Viewed 627 times
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX

RichP714
SILVER-7t
Posts: 1789
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by RichP714 » Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:53 pm

FDH 400 for the WIV
FR603 for the other

User avatar
brit01
TFM-45
Posts: 580
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by brit01 » Sat Nov 01, 2008 3:08 pm

http://www.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch ... V21DICT-ND

i think this is the closest they have to the FDH400
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX

User avatar
brit01
TFM-45
Posts: 580
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by brit01 » Sat Nov 01, 2008 3:10 pm

lets stick to one thread. I duplicated my question before.
Amnesia sorry.
the 1N3883 is a D04 form factor (threaded metal case)

the MUR860 is a TO-220 form factor (looks like a square transistor)

If that's your choice I'd go with the MUR, it would adapt more easily to the mounting
I'll take the old ones along and see what they say.
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX

User avatar
brit01
TFM-45
Posts: 580
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by brit01 » Sat Nov 01, 2008 3:29 pm

This might be a better fit. Is this suitable in your opinion. Same shape.

6A40 DIR rectificador 6A 400V (P600G)

Picture from another seller:


http://pinbits.com/index.php?main_page= ... e91e5a0e0c
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX

RichP714
SILVER-7t
Posts: 1789
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by RichP714 » Sat Nov 01, 2008 5:50 pm

brit01 wrote:This might be a better fit. Is this suitable in your opinion. Same shape.

6A40 DIR rectificador 6A 400V (P600G)

Picture from another seller:


http://pinbits.com/index.php?main_page= ... e91e5a0e0c
Those aren't fast recovery, the Mur's would be better

User avatar
brit01
TFM-45
Posts: 580
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by brit01 » Sat Nov 01, 2008 6:08 pm

Thks Rich.

Let me see what the local stores come up with.
If I can't find anything similar I'll probably buy them in UK and get my folks to send them over again.

I don't like to look of the murs. I'd like to try and stick to the original designs as much as possible.

How about this for the FDH400? 250V 200mA.

http://www.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch ... V21DICT-ND
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX

RichP714
SILVER-7t
Posts: 1789
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by RichP714 » Sat Nov 01, 2008 6:32 pm

That one looks like it'll work; a fairly standard 1/2 watt diode; I was trying to match from your local supplier, but digi-key has a much wider slection

User avatar
brit01
TFM-45
Posts: 580
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by brit01 » Sat Nov 01, 2008 7:08 pm

but digi-key has a much wider selection
outer space has a wider selection than Uruguay. ](*,) ](*,) ](*,)

Really frustrating sometimes living here. We're in the stone age I feel. That's why this country doesn't grow. Hey if you don't have it maybe offer to order it for the customer or widen your range!! There's a wild thought.

But no they don't operate like that.
"We don't have it so try somewhere else!"

Well my girl gets back from Miami in 8 hours with some goodies for me :D :D :D :D
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX

User avatar
brit01
TFM-45
Posts: 580
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by brit01 » Sun Nov 02, 2008 6:25 am

:D :D :D :D :D
\:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/

Just got my Aikido valve kit, blue Jeans IC's, loads of caps etc.

The Blue Jean's IC's are superb quality. Haven't listened to them yet but I love them already.

Now I have some NOS Russian Paper In Oil caps, 0.47uF. I could try these on the RCA board as the coupling caps in my TFM?


I don't see why not. They are of high voltage (500V) but this shouldn't affect things should it? It's the capacitance that is important.

Also I have RTI and Auricaps but these are 1uF. A bit high for this set up?

Now I have found the 6A 200V FR603's in UK. I can use these in substitution for the MR822, 5A diodes also?
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX

RichP714
SILVER-7t
Posts: 1789
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 2:12 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Post by RichP714 » Sun Nov 02, 2008 2:33 pm

brit01 wrote:......Now I have some NOS Russian Paper In Oil caps, 0.47uF. I could try these on the RCA board as the coupling caps in my TFM?
Paper in oil is suppossed to be very linear; usually found in crossovers though, and I don't know the life expectancy; worth a try though
brit01 wrote:......Also I have RTI and Auricaps but these are 1uF. A bit high for this set up?
yes, a bit too high
brit01 wrote:......Now I have found the 6A 200V FR603's in UK. I can use these in substitution for the MR822, 5A diodes also?
Yes, they will work for both fine

Post Reply

Return to “CARVER Equipment Repair/Help Forum”