FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:57 pm

Offset problem with TFM-55?

<<

frankieD

Frankie The Mouth

Posts: 2471

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 2:38 pm

Location: So Cal

Post Wed Oct 29, 2008 5:46 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

This thread has been like a soap opera. The days of our lives. I'd check in each day to see what new discovery or problem would show up. All the while, in the background was the sure knowlege that RichP would come through and save the day (amp).

And Brit01, what determination and grit! Failure just isn't in your vocabulary.

This has been a great thread and this forum ROCKS indeed!

Thank you both and congrats on a job well done.

FrankieD
<<

brit01

User avatar

TFM-45

Posts: 589

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm

Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Post Wed Oct 29, 2008 5:57 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

don't forget about that 1/4 watt resistor you had in there temporarily


Thanks for the reminder. I changed these last Monday. Some nice new 2 watt metal film ones.
Going to replace a lot of them on the right channel to get everything up to date and matching.

This thread has been like a soap opera. The days of our lives. I'd check in each day to see what new discovery or problem would show up. All the while, in the background was the sure knowlege that RichP would come through and save the day (amp).

And Brit01, what determination and grit! Failure just isn't in your vocabulary.

This has been a great thread and this forum ROCKS indeed!

Thank you both and congrats on a job well done.


Certainly has. Thks for the compliments. I've really enjoyed this stuff. Couldn't wait to get home from work to get to work on my amp again.

I couldn't settle just for a mediocre job as you could see.
Job's not finished yet remember.

I'll keep you all updated.

\:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX
<<

brit01

User avatar

TFM-45

Posts: 589

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm

Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:24 am

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Ok back to original thread.

Quote:
Just discharge them first! I use this:



Quote:
MANY experience amp techs have shorted across the terminals to discharge the caps & blown up Magnetic Field amps. You can NOT do that with the Carver amps.....



:-k :-k :-k :-k

Guys you are confusing me now.

Would discharging them with a light bulb cause possible damage??

Do I just take them out and put in the new caps without discharging?
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX
<<

BillD

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 7295

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:29 pm

Location: The west's most mid-western town, Scottsdale, Arizona

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:37 am

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Don't do that unless you like surprises. Read my PM.
It should sound like it isn't there!
There is a difference between hearing and listening...
Making life enjoyable through expensive electronics.
_________________
Carver: C-4000 & C-1 preamps, PSC-60 preamp/tuner, TX-11a tuner, M-400 (2), C-500, M-500, M-500t, M-500t Mk.II, A-500x, AL-III loudspeakers (2 pr.)
Sunfire:Theater Grand III processor, Ultimate Receiver, Cinema Grand Signature 400 ~ seven, True Subwoofer Mk. II, D-10 Subwoofer
<<

brit01

User avatar

TFM-45

Posts: 589

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm

Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 12:21 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

What kind of diodes are these? You know the previous cowboy tech cut most of the legs on the right channel and resoldered them? Well I want to replace these for nice new ones. Can you see them here?
http://www.electronica.com.uy/index.php?cPath=331_21_27
Also the 175 WIV? Is this the coding? #-o What do I need to ask for here?

Could these be used for the second one?
http://www.electronica.com.uy/product_info.php?cPath=331_21_27_286&products_id=155

diodes.JPG
diodes.JPG (8.06 KiB) Viewed 268 times
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX
<<

RichP714

SILVER-7t

Posts: 1814

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 2:12 pm

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:53 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

FDH 400 for the WIV
FR603 for the other
<<

brit01

User avatar

TFM-45

Posts: 589

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm

Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 3:08 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

http://www.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail?name=BAV21DICT-ND

i think this is the closest they have to the FDH400
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX
<<

brit01

User avatar

TFM-45

Posts: 589

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm

Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 3:10 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

lets stick to one thread. I duplicated my question before.
Amnesia sorry.

the 1N3883 is a D04 form factor (threaded metal case)

the MUR860 is a TO-220 form factor (looks like a square transistor)

If that's your choice I'd go with the MUR, it would adapt more easily to the mounting


I'll take the old ones along and see what they say.
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX
<<

brit01

User avatar

TFM-45

Posts: 589

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm

Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 3:29 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

This might be a better fit. Is this suitable in your opinion. Same shape.

6A40 DIR rectificador 6A 400V (P600G)

Picture from another seller:


http://pinbits.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=15&products_id=178&zenid=d84753f8e7690bf676e109e91e5a0e0c
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX
<<

RichP714

SILVER-7t

Posts: 1814

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 2:12 pm

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 5:50 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

brit01 wrote:This might be a better fit. Is this suitable in your opinion. Same shape.

6A40 DIR rectificador 6A 400V (P600G)

Picture from another seller:


http://pinbits.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=15&products_id=178&zenid=d84753f8e7690bf676e109e91e5a0e0c


Those aren't fast recovery, the Mur's would be better
<<

brit01

User avatar

TFM-45

Posts: 589

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm

Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 6:08 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

Thks Rich.

Let me see what the local stores come up with.
If I can't find anything similar I'll probably buy them in UK and get my folks to send them over again.

I don't like to look of the murs. I'd like to try and stick to the original designs as much as possible.

How about this for the FDH400? 250V 200mA.

http://www.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail?name=BAV21DICT-ND
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX
<<

RichP714

SILVER-7t

Posts: 1814

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 2:12 pm

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 6:32 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

That one looks like it'll work; a fairly standard 1/2 watt diode; I was trying to match from your local supplier, but digi-key has a much wider slection
<<

brit01

User avatar

TFM-45

Posts: 589

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm

Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 7:08 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

but digi-key has a much wider selection


outer space has a wider selection than Uruguay. ](*,) ](*,) ](*,)

Really frustrating sometimes living here. We're in the stone age I feel. That's why this country doesn't grow. Hey if you don't have it maybe offer to order it for the customer or widen your range!! There's a wild thought.

But no they don't operate like that.
"We don't have it so try somewhere else!"

Well my girl gets back from Miami in 8 hours with some goodies for me :D :D :D :D
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX
<<

brit01

User avatar

TFM-45

Posts: 589

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:29 pm

Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Post Sun Nov 02, 2008 6:25 am

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

:D :D :D :D :D
\:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/

Just got my Aikido valve kit, blue Jeans IC's, loads of caps etc.

The Blue Jean's IC's are superb quality. Haven't listened to them yet but I love them already.

Now I have some NOS Russian Paper In Oil caps, 0.47uF. I could try these on the RCA board as the coupling caps in my TFM?


I don't see why not. They are of high voltage (500V) but this shouldn't affect things should it? It's the capacitance that is important.

Also I have RTI and Auricaps but these are 1uF. A bit high for this set up?

Now I have found the 6A 200V FR603's in UK. I can use these in substitution for the MR822, 5A diodes also?
TFM-55, CT-3, Klipsch F-1, Rotel RCD 930AX
<<

RichP714

SILVER-7t

Posts: 1814

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 2:12 pm

Post Sun Nov 02, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: Offset problem with TFM-55?

brit01 wrote:......Now I have some NOS Russian Paper In Oil caps, 0.47uF. I could try these on the RCA board as the coupling caps in my TFM?
Paper in oil is suppossed to be very linear; usually found in crossovers though, and I don't know the life expectancy; worth a try though

brit01 wrote:......Also I have RTI and Auricaps but these are 1uF. A bit high for this set up?
yes, a bit too high

brit01 wrote:......Now I have found the 6A 200V FR603's in UK. I can use these in substitution for the MR822, 5A diodes also?
Yes, they will work for both fine
PreviousNext

Return to CARVER Equipment Repair/Help Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2011 phpBB Group.