FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:48 am

dc offset revisited

<<

jm55

Post Sun Jan 25, 2009 3:54 pm

dc offset revisited

This is my first post at Carveraudio. I am a relatively new Carver TFM35 owner. I am also quite new to high fidelity in general. I always had cheap gear, but accidentally came across a TFM35 for sale, and decided to make the plunge into the audiophile world.

In any event, I am reading like crazy trying to learn more about audio equipment, and decided to measure the dc offset of my TFM35. I am getting -8mv on the left and 16mv on the right.

I would like to adjust this for slightly better agreement. Are there pots inside the TFM35 for me to do this? If so what is the easiest way to I.D them, and make the adjustment?

I apologize if this has been specifically addressed before. I did do a search and found some relevent info. but not the specifics I need.

I should note that I am otherwise very happy with my Carver. Right now it is being driven by a Philips PA1000B preamp.
<<

jm55

Post Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:53 pm

Re: dc offset revisited

First off, I will apologize for not reading extensively enough, and I realize it must be exasperating to constantly face a barrage of newbie questions. There was significant information on bias of other Carver units, and I learned enough to forge ahead.

The best I could obtain was a warm reading of 2.0mv on the left across TP201/203 and 2.1mv across TP202/204. I saw this value for some Carver amps, but not specifically for TFM 35. I tried to get them exact, but the trimpots are really sensitive and perfect agreement seems near impossible.

Are these acceptable values?