FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 6:49 pm

CT-17 pre-out help

<<

diz131

Newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:53 am

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:59 am

CT-17 pre-out help

Hi all, I have come across a CT-17 preamp and a AV-64 Amp and I'm having some difficulty hooking the two up but that may be user error :(. Using the remote amp output from the CT-17 everything works fine but when I try using the CT-17 Pre-outs to the AV-64 I get nothing. Are my pre-outs bad? or are they supposed to be connected to a Sub? Unfortunately I do not have a Sub to test them with. Any help with setting these two up would be great! Thanks!
<<

Rainman

User avatar

SILVER-7t

Posts: 1023

Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 2:19 am

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:14 am

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

I think the first thing everyone will want to know is do you have an owners manual for your CT-17 because this will likely determine the best, easiest, way to help you sort it out... :-k

Rainman
Question: Do you know why turds are tapered on the ends? Answer: So your asshole doesn't slam shut..

Carver- SDA490t, SDA450, 2 TFM45's, TFM15, CT23, CT28v, CT27v, Linn Kaber speakers, Sunfire crm2's, PS Audio Statement speaker cables and I/C's, A.P.C. power
<<

diz131

Newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:53 am

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:34 am

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

Unfortunately I do not have any of the owners manuals for either unit, I figured if the remote out can connect to the AV-64 then the pre-out should work too.
<<

Rainman

User avatar

SILVER-7t

Posts: 1023

Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 2:19 am

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 3:09 am

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

I am not familiar with the back of the CT-17, but I can tell you there are several Carver units that the inputs and outputs can be made to go to different places like external processors (eq's) by simply removing or installing some of the little U shaped jumpers you will notice on the back of your unit. This would be most likely on some units, but without knowing the back of your unit I will say it is a possibility. The only other thing I can think of is to make sure that there is not some weird feature on or button pushed that might affect your pre-outs, and also make sure that the multi room feature isn't some how affecting things due to a failure or something that might be just plain bizarre.
Without having an owners manual or one to look at in person that is about as far as I am able to travel at this point. This is where the others will usually chime in and pick up the slack. [-o<
If you need any further help let me know and I can do a little "rootin and goughing" like at Bristol or try a call or two for you... 8)

Rainman
Question: Do you know why turds are tapered on the ends? Answer: So your asshole doesn't slam shut..

Carver- SDA490t, SDA450, 2 TFM45's, TFM15, CT23, CT28v, CT27v, Linn Kaber speakers, Sunfire crm2's, PS Audio Statement speaker cables and I/C's, A.P.C. power
<<

OBI56

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 4964

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:52 am

Location: You ... OFF MY PLANET!

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:49 am

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

Did you remove the U plugs from the External Processor Loop jacks on the back of the unit? If so, then it will never play through the Main Out jacks.

CT-17 back.JPG
CT-17 back.JPG (34.82 KiB) Viewed 476 times


CT-17 ExtProLoop.JPG
CT-17 ExtProLoop.JPG (35.44 KiB) Viewed 476 times
Why let facts or common sense get in the way of your opinions.
<<

diz131

Newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:53 am

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:19 am

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

Ah ok, I dont have any U plugs so that may be why I cannot connect the Av-64 through that output. Any idea where I may be able to find these U plugs, are they availible at most places? I'm not too familiar with what they look like, Thanks for the help so far!
<<

TNRabbit

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 13312

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:53 am

Location: TN Native Languishing in VA

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:07 pm

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

Radio Shack should have them...
TNRabbit
Image

From FrankieD's lips to your ears: Sunfire - a quiet box of endless power.

Sunfire TG-IV/400~7 Amp
Carver SD/A-360 CDP
Benchmark DAC-1
Sony SACD/DVD-A
Active bi-amp: Ashly XR-1001 & 2 Rane PEQ-15s
Main: HotRodded AL-IIIs
Sub: Klipsch RT-12d
Center: Sunfire CRS-3c
Surround: Sunfire CRS-3 (x 2)

OconeeOrange wrote:"Gary likes to play it 'loud' as do I. His system begs you turn it up until you die"

RIP WIlliam B. Dibble, 1948-2012. I'll miss you my friend.
<<

OBI56

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 4964

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:52 am

Location: You ... OFF MY PLANET!

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:24 pm

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

diz131 wrote:Ah ok, I dont have any U plugs so that may be why I cannot connect the Av-64 through that output. Any idea where I may be able to find these U plugs, are they availible at most places? I'm not too familiar with what they look like, Thanks for the help so far!


They are basically solid wire jumpers that are U shaped that bridge from out to in. In a pinch, you can use short RCA to RCA cables to do the same thing. They do vary in spacing, so you need to measure them centre ot centre to make sure you get the correct size.

Here are some fancy ones that do not need to be measured
http://www.needledoctor.com/Audioquest- ... tegory=427

These are MUCH cheaper as long as they fit your preamp
http://www.futurlec.com/RCA-Jumper.shtml
Why let facts or common sense get in the way of your opinions.
<<

diz131

Newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:53 am

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:40 pm

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

I tried radioshack but no luck, I'm going to try with some of my RCA cables to see if it works and then I will order some shorter ones, Thanks for all the help!!!
<<

frankieD

Frankie The Mouth

Posts: 2450

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 2:38 pm

Location: So Cal

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:30 pm

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

I got in on this late but you guys sure covered it well.

The proc loop must be jumpered in order for the pre-outs to work.

Any RCA cables will do so you should have the pre-outs working by now.

I wouldn't sweat the jumpers, you will find some eventually, meanwhile enjoy the gear.

FrankieD
<<

diz131

Newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:53 am

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:51 pm

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

Ok so I used some RCA's to turn off the "Ext. Proc" out and then tried hooking up the pre-out to the AV-64 main input but still no sound, I think my pre-out connection may be shot because the Remote-Out option works, weird.
<<

BillD

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 7295

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:29 pm

Location: The west's most mid-western town, Scottsdale, Arizona

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 6:50 pm

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

You did connect the RCAs from the out to the in, yes/no?
It should sound like it isn't there!
There is a difference between hearing and listening...
Making life enjoyable through expensive electronics.
_________________
Carver: C-4000 & C-1 preamps, PSC-60 preamp/tuner, TX-11a tuner, M-400 (2), C-500, M-500, M-500t, M-500t Mk.II, A-500x, AL-III loudspeakers (2 pr.)
Sunfire:Theater Grand III processor, Ultimate Receiver, Cinema Grand Signature 400 ~ seven, True Subwoofer Mk. II, D-10 Subwoofer
<<

OBI56

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 4964

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:52 am

Location: You ... OFF MY PLANET!

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 7:36 pm

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

diz131 wrote:Ok so I used some RCA's to turn off the "Ext. Proc" out and then tried hooking up the pre-out to the AV-64 main input but still no sound, I think my pre-out connection may be shot because the Remote-Out option works, weird.


Just an idea here. Last button on the left on the second row called Engage. Is it on or off?
Why let facts or common sense get in the way of your opinions.
<<

diz131

Newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:53 am

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 7:42 pm

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

hmmm good question, let me check.
<<

TNRabbit

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 13312

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:53 am

Location: TN Native Languishing in VA

Post Mon Feb 16, 2009 8:02 pm

Re: CT-17 pre-out help

BillD wrote:You did connect the RCAs from the out to the in, yes/no?


Bill, I think you and I are thinking the same thing....

Do you have a pic of the back of your preamp & connections, diz131?
TNRabbit
Image

From FrankieD's lips to your ears: Sunfire - a quiet box of endless power.

Sunfire TG-IV/400~7 Amp
Carver SD/A-360 CDP
Benchmark DAC-1
Sony SACD/DVD-A
Active bi-amp: Ashly XR-1001 & 2 Rane PEQ-15s
Main: HotRodded AL-IIIs
Sub: Klipsch RT-12d
Center: Sunfire CRS-3c
Surround: Sunfire CRS-3 (x 2)

OconeeOrange wrote:"Gary likes to play it 'loud' as do I. His system begs you turn it up until you die"

RIP WIlliam B. Dibble, 1948-2012. I'll miss you my friend.
Next

Return to CARVER Equipment Repair/Help Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2011 phpBB Group.