FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:44 pm

FNG to the site and to Carver. Need some recommendations.

<<

helicopterpilotdoug

SILVER-7t

Post Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:48 pm

FNG to the site and to Carver. Need some recommendations.

Hello all. Glad to have found the site. I've been cruising around here for a couple of days, and like what I see. Like I said, I'm new to Carver as well as this site. I've heard nothing but good things about Carver. I've been a Proton Audio guy for many years. Had the Proton 1100 pre and a D 1200 power amp. Bought my equipment in the 80's, and it served me well for many years. I recently did a change over to a 7.1 system, and sold my Proton equipment. Now I need to get a really good Carver power amp for the front speakers.
OK here is what I've got.
Pioneer VSX 84TXSi (145 wpc) for the receiver, and it will power the new 8 ohm Polk Audio CSiA6 center, FXi A6 Rears and FXiA4 surrounds.
Mains are Polk Audio SDA 2 speakers which are 5 OHM, that I've had since the 80's.
I'll be using the main pre outs on the 84TXSi to feed the power amp.
I've been looking at the Carver TFM amps, in particular the TFM-35X and the TFM-45. After reading a lot of posts I'm leaning toward the TFM-45. I'd appreciate some input here from anyone, but especially anyone who might be using the Polk SDA 2 speakers. What are your thoughts and/or recommendations on a great Carver amp that I can use both for music and HT with my setup?
Thanks in advance,
Doug
Sunfire: Theater Grand IV, Cinema Grand Signature.
Carver: TFM-45, PST-24 Cassette, Extra Carver Gear: CT-6, C-11 (S/N 00001).
Polk Audio: Mains SRS 2.1TL, Center CSiA6, Surrounds FXiA6 and FXiA4, Sub DSW MicroPro 1000, Extra Speakers SDA 2A, SDA 2Btl, Monitor 10A.
Turntable: Dual CS 714Q
Bluray/SACD: Oppo BDP 83SE
CD: Sony 330 300 Disk changer

http://www.douglasconnection.com
<<

kingman

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Post Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:56 pm