FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 2:44 am

Newbie here, question about Carver c1000a

<<

js_specials

Post Tue Apr 13, 2010 1:14 pm

Newbie here, question about Carver c1000a

I have a c1000a, Sunfire powered subwoofer, and polk speakers. An RCA cable connects the carver from the subwoofer preout to the subwoofer. I have always had a bit of a ground hum, but that has been the extent of any problems. Recently I was watching The Matrix on a pioneer elite dvl-91 dvd player, with audio transferred to the Carver using a fiber optic cable. Video is not routed to the carver receiver. Ground hum was a bit annoying, so I pulled the RCA out of the preout, and then went to put it back in. I accidentily touched the center of the rca cable to the outside of the preout connection. As it touched, there was a very loud hum in all of the speakers which immediately went away when I plugged the cable back in. However, after that, anytime bass was required there was a crackling noise instead, and then the carver would shut off. It did this several times. I shut everything down, and then checked the fuse in the subwoofer and a 2 of the speakers. All were fine. The other 3 speakers do not have any fuses. I restarted the system, and sure enough, the carver continued to shut off whenever bass was required. I shut it back down, and let it cool overnight with all of the equipment unplugged. I restarted everything, and the same problem continued right away. Any thoughts?
<<

thuffman03

!! CarverFest Evictee !!

Post Tue Apr 13, 2010 1:48 pm

Re: Newbie here, question about Carver c1000a

Welcome to the forum. I am sorry that I cannot answer your question but I am sure another member will chime in and give you a few things to try.
Some cool Carver stuff!
<<

engtaz

"TAZ"

Post Tue Apr 13, 2010 3:23 pm

Welcome use a cheater plug to stop the ground loop problem. (Cheater plug 3 plug hole female side to 2 prong male side.)
engtaz