FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 8:38 am

HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

<<

walleyeguy

Newbie

Posts: 10

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:31 am

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:43 am

HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Hello Folk's I Am New to This Site And Have a Question: I am Wanting to Hook Up 4 901 Bose with 2 EQ's to My CT-28V Can Anyone out There Give Me some Advice? I'm Using Carver Amp's 1-PM1.5A And 2 M1.5T Wishing it Was Easy But I Am HAving a Bit of Trouble Any Help would Be Great...Cheers
<<

jjptkd

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 2892

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:50 pm

Location: Snohomish, WA

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 11:05 am

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Welcome to the forum!
Sunfire TGP-III
Sunfire 405x5
PS Audio DL-III DAC
(2 Pairs) Klipsch Chorus II's
Klipsch RSW 15
<<

TNRabbit

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 13312

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:53 am

Location: TN Native Languishing in VA

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 11:39 am

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

WELCOME!

What type of configuration/setup are you hoping to put the 4 speakers in?
TNRabbit
Image

From FrankieD's lips to your ears: Sunfire - a quiet box of endless power.

Sunfire TG-IV/400~7 Amp
Carver SD/A-360 CDP
Benchmark DAC-1
Sony SACD/DVD-A
Active bi-amp: Ashly XR-1001 & 2 Rane PEQ-15s
Main: HotRodded AL-IIIs
Sub: Klipsch RT-12d
Center: Sunfire CRS-3c
Surround: Sunfire CRS-3 (x 2)

OconeeOrange wrote:"Gary likes to play it 'loud' as do I. His system begs you turn it up until you die"

RIP WIlliam B. Dibble, 1948-2012. I'll miss you my friend.
<<

kingman

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 5670

Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:10 pm

Location: Upstate South Carolina

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 11:48 am

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Since you use the tape loop for the equalizer you will have to split the loop with some Y extensions. I got a pic of the use of 4 at home...I'll try to post later.....BTW...WELCOME!!!
In reality, it only matters what it sounds like to YOU!!!
<<

walleyeguy

Newbie

Posts: 10

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:31 am

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:18 pm

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Thanks Buddy My Carver CT28V Has No Tape Loop But Has an EQ in and out Should be the same Thing I Would Think ..Thank's for The Welcome :)
<<

thuffman03

User avatar

!! CarverFest Evictee !!

Posts: 2705

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:07 am

Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:22 pm

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Welcome to the forum.

I do believe that you can use the EQ in/out on your preamp or you can put it in line between your preamp and amp.
Some cool Carver stuff!
<<

walleyeguy

Newbie

Posts: 10

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:31 am

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:49 pm

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Thank's For The warm Welcome Guy's ...I am Trying to Hook 2 Bose EQ's to My Carver CT28 V Having Issues Will get It Resolved With time And your Help Thank's
<<

kingman

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 5670

Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:10 pm

Location: Upstate South Carolina

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Yea...use the equalizer in/out loop...even easier that way.
In reality, it only matters what it sounds like to YOU!!!
<<

walleyeguy

Newbie

Posts: 10

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:31 am

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 1:58 pm

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Yes I'm going to Give It a Try And See What Happens ....Happy-New-Year
<<

BillD

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 7295

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:29 pm

Location: The west's most mid-western town, Scottsdale, Arizona

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Well, you have two EQs, one for each pair of Bose. It seems the most straightforward way to hook them up is between the output of the preamp/tuner and the power amp driving each set of Bose (one per amp per pair). If you hook them up in an EQ loop, you are likely to clip the downstream opamps in the preamp. There is also the possibility that you will clip the input opamp in each amplifier, which can be contained with the volume control.

If you find that you don't overwhelm the downstream preamp sections and you want the EQ the same for both sets of speakers, you could use one in the preamp loop for both sets of speakers.
It should sound like it isn't there!
There is a difference between hearing and listening...
Making life enjoyable through expensive electronics.
_________________
Carver: C-4000 & C-1 preamps, PSC-60 preamp/tuner, TX-11a tuner, M-400 (2), C-500, M-500, M-500t, M-500t Mk.II, A-500x, AL-III loudspeakers (2 pr.)
Sunfire:Theater Grand III processor, Ultimate Receiver, Cinema Grand Signature 400 ~ seven, True Subwoofer Mk. II, D-10 Subwoofer
<<

engtaz

User avatar

"TAZ"

Posts: 5206

Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 1:43 pm

Location: Tampa, FL

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:46 pm

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Welcome
engtaz


Carver M4.0T in front channels to Caver AL VI's in SACD & 2 Channel setup
C 16, PT 2400, Slim Device, Carver TX-8, 490T and Rega TT w Grado Gold cart in the 2 channel setup
Bogen SRB20 is computer amp
Carver PM-350 donated for youth church use
<<

kingman

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 5670

Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:10 pm

Location: Upstate South Carolina

Post Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:20 pm

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Here's the deal....
Attachments
901 setup.jpg
901 setup.jpg (251.67 KiB) Viewed 310 times
901 setup.jpg
901 setup.jpg (373.58 KiB) Viewed 310 times
In reality, it only matters what it sounds like to YOU!!!
<<

walleyeguy

Newbie

Posts: 10

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:31 am

Post Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:27 am

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Hey thank's for the Info Thing is I wanted to Run 2 Amps and wont be able to doso with them hooked like that .I Think? Anyway I did Something to My Pre-Amp Have No Sound Comming Out of it Tried several Differnt Amps and Nothing Just Very Faint When turned Up to Extreme Levels...Not sure What to Do Now Just Bought More Carvers but will not be Running them For a While :( I Was Hoping to Hook them to An old Pioneer I am Using But unsure How to Connect the amps ..It has Jumpers And I'm not sure ? ...Thanks ....Happy New_year..............
<<

angelod307

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 2708

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:56 pm

Location: manning, sc

Post Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:30 am

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

just curious, were do you live?
CarverFest: I just go for the arts and crafts
<<

kingman

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 5670

Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:10 pm

Location: Upstate South Carolina

Post Fri Dec 31, 2010 8:38 am

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

walleyeguy wrote:Hey thank's for the Info Thing is I wanted to Run 2 Amps and wont be able to doso with them hooked like that .I Think? Anyway I did Something to My Pre-Amp Have No Sound Comming Out of it Tried several Differnt Amps and Nothing Just Very Faint When turned Up to Extreme Levels...Not sure What to Do Now Just Bought More Carvers but will not be Running them For a While :( I Was Hoping to Hook them to An old Pioneer I am Using But unsure How to Connect the amps ..It has Jumpers And I'm not sure ? ...Thanks ....Happy New_year..............

Give us a clue...what were you doing right before the pre shut down???
In reality, it only matters what it sounds like to YOU!!!
Next

Return to Carver Home (Audio)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 5 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2011 phpBB Group.