HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Carver Home Audio (Stereo) Discussions and Questions
walleyeguy
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:31 am

HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by walleyeguy » Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:43 am

Hello Folk's I Am New to This Site And Have a Question: I am Wanting to Hook Up 4 901 Bose with 2 EQ's to My CT-28V Can Anyone out There Give Me some Advice? I'm Using Carver Amp's 1-PM1.5A And 2 M1.5T Wishing it Was Easy But I Am HAving a Bit of Trouble Any Help would Be Great...Cheers

User avatar
jjptkd
SILVER-7 TUBE AMP
Posts: 3050
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:50 pm
Location: Snohomish, WA

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by jjptkd » Thu Dec 30, 2010 11:05 am

Welcome to the forum!
Oppo Sonica DAC
Sunfire TG-III
Sunfire 300x2
Klipsch Chorus II

User avatar
TNRabbit
R.I.P. Friend
R.I.P. Friend
Posts: 13360
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:53 am
Location: TN Native Languishing in VA
Contact:

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by TNRabbit » Thu Dec 30, 2010 11:39 am

WELCOME!

What type of configuration/setup are you hoping to put the 4 speakers in?
TNRabbit
Image

From FrankieD's lips to your ears: Sunfire - a quiet box of endless power.

Sunfire TG-IV/400~7 Amp
Carver SD/A-360 CDP
Benchmark DAC-1
Sony SACD/DVD-A
Active bi-amp: Ashly XR-1001 & 2 Rane PEQ-15s
Main: HotRodded AL-IIIs
Sub: Klipsch RT-12d
Center: Sunfire CRS-3c
Surround: Sunfire CRS-3 (x 2)

OconeeOrange wrote:"Gary likes to play it 'loud' as do I. His system begs you turn it up until you die"

RIP WIlliam B. Dibble, 1948-2012. I'll miss you my friend.

User avatar
kingman
(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs
Posts: 6368
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:10 pm
Location: Upstate South Carolina

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by kingman » Thu Dec 30, 2010 11:48 am

Since you use the tape loop for the equalizer you will have to split the loop with some Y extensions. I got a pic of the use of 4 at home...I'll try to post later.....BTW...WELCOME!!!
In reality, it only matters what it sounds like to YOU!!!

walleyeguy
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:31 am

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by walleyeguy » Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:18 pm

Thanks Buddy My Carver CT28V Has No Tape Loop But Has an EQ in and out Should be the same Thing I Would Think ..Thank's for The Welcome :)

User avatar
thuffman03
!! CarverFest Evictee !!
Posts: 2701
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:07 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by thuffman03 » Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:22 pm

Welcome to the forum.

I do believe that you can use the EQ in/out on your preamp or you can put it in line between your preamp and amp.
Some cool Carver stuff!

walleyeguy
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:31 am

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by walleyeguy » Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:49 pm

Thank's For The warm Welcome Guy's ...I am Trying to Hook 2 Bose EQ's to My Carver CT28 V Having Issues Will get It Resolved With time And your Help Thank's

User avatar
kingman
(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs
Posts: 6368
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:10 pm
Location: Upstate South Carolina

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by kingman » Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:52 pm

Yea...use the equalizer in/out loop...even easier that way.
In reality, it only matters what it sounds like to YOU!!!

walleyeguy
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:31 am

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by walleyeguy » Thu Dec 30, 2010 1:58 pm

Yes I'm going to Give It a Try And See What Happens ....Happy-New-Year

User avatar
BillD
R.I.P. Friend
R.I.P. Friend
Posts: 7126
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: The west's most mid-western town, Scottsdale, Arizona

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by BillD » Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:04 pm

Well, you have two EQs, one for each pair of Bose. It seems the most straightforward way to hook them up is between the output of the preamp/tuner and the power amp driving each set of Bose (one per amp per pair). If you hook them up in an EQ loop, you are likely to clip the downstream opamps in the preamp. There is also the possibility that you will clip the input opamp in each amplifier, which can be contained with the volume control.

If you find that you don't overwhelm the downstream preamp sections and you want the EQ the same for both sets of speakers, you could use one in the preamp loop for both sets of speakers.
It should sound like it isn't there!
There is a difference between hearing and listening...
Making life enjoyable through expensive electronics.
_________________
Carver: C-4000 & C-1 preamps, PSC-60 preamp/tuner, TX-11a tuner, M-400 (2), C-500, M-500, M-500t, M-500t Mk.II, A-500x, AL-III loudspeakers (2 pr.)
Sunfire:Theater Grand III processor, Ultimate Receiver, Cinema Grand Signature 400 ~ seven, True Subwoofer Mk. II, D-10 Subwoofer

User avatar
engtaz
"TAZ"
Posts: 5390
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 1:43 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by engtaz » Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:46 pm

Welcome
engtaz


Carver M4.0T in front channels to Caver AL VI's in SACD & 2 Channel setup
C 16, PT 2400, Slim Device, Carver TX-8, 490T and Rega TT w Grado Gold cart in the 2 channel setup
Bogen SRB20 is computer amp
Carver PM-350 donated for youth church use

User avatar
kingman
(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs
Posts: 6368
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:10 pm
Location: Upstate South Carolina

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by kingman » Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:20 pm

Here's the deal....
Attachments
901 setup.jpg
901 setup.jpg (251.67 KiB) Viewed 1593 times
901 setup.jpg
901 setup.jpg (373.58 KiB) Viewed 1593 times
In reality, it only matters what it sounds like to YOU!!!

walleyeguy
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:31 am

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by walleyeguy » Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:27 am

Hey thank's for the Info Thing is I wanted to Run 2 Amps and wont be able to doso with them hooked like that .I Think? Anyway I did Something to My Pre-Amp Have No Sound Comming Out of it Tried several Differnt Amps and Nothing Just Very Faint When turned Up to Extreme Levels...Not sure What to Do Now Just Bought More Carvers but will not be Running them For a While :( I Was Hoping to Hook them to An old Pioneer I am Using But unsure How to Connect the amps ..It has Jumpers And I'm not sure ? ...Thanks ....Happy New_year..............

angelod307
SILVER-7 TUBE AMP
Posts: 2654
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:56 pm
Location: manning, sc

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by angelod307 » Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:30 am

just curious, were do you live?
CarverFest: I just go for the arts and crafts

User avatar
kingman
(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs
Posts: 6368
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:10 pm
Location: Upstate South Carolina

Re: HELPWith Bose EQ Hookup

Post by kingman » Fri Dec 31, 2010 8:38 am

walleyeguy wrote:Hey thank's for the Info Thing is I wanted to Run 2 Amps and wont be able to doso with them hooked like that .I Think? Anyway I did Something to My Pre-Amp Have No Sound Comming Out of it Tried several Differnt Amps and Nothing Just Very Faint When turned Up to Extreme Levels...Not sure What to Do Now Just Bought More Carvers but will not be Running them For a While :( I Was Hoping to Hook them to An old Pioneer I am Using But unsure How to Connect the amps ..It has Jumpers And I'm not sure ? ...Thanks ....Happy New_year..............
Give us a clue...what were you doing right before the pre shut down???
In reality, it only matters what it sounds like to YOU!!!

Post Reply

Return to “Carver Home (Audio)”