FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 6:01 pm

Sunfire TGP 1 remote questions

<<

rah

M-400t CUBE

Posts: 149

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:51 pm

Location: Houston TX

Post Tue Aug 23, 2011 11:30 am

Sunfire TGP 1 remote questions

After much searching I finally picked up an original Sunfire TGP 1 remote (the one with the full touchscreen).

When I first got it I put batteries in it and nothing happened. Then after about 30 minutes the remote's display came on and powered up and worked fine.

Yesterday I accidentally (is there any other way?) dropped it about a foot onto a carpeted floor and the display went out. I gently shook it, nothing. Took the batteries out and put them back in. After about an hour the display came back on.

Then about an hour later I kinda dropped it again (!!!!!!!) and again the display went out. Took batteries out and put back in (thinking I'm rebooting the remote when I do this). Nothing. Came into this office this morning and it's still blank. Did battery thing again, after an hour it's back on again.

For those who have this exact remote:

How long does it take for the display to come on when you reinstall or put new batteries in it?

Do I have a bad, or soon to be bad remote?

Thanks.
My office (and only) system:
Sunfire Ultimate Receiver (thanks jjptkd!)
Sunfire Theater Grand Processor (with original remote!)
Carver TD-1770
Klipsch Chorus II's
Sony CA70ES 5-disc changer
Sony SACD 5-disc changer
<<

TNRabbit

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 13283

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:53 am

Location: TN Native Languishing in VA

Post Tue Aug 23, 2011 11:44 am

Re: Sunfire TGP 1 remote questions

Most change those remotes out for the newer remote III as it's much more intuitive.

Image

I've never had one, but that can't be a good thing.

STOP DROPPING THE DAMN THING!!!!! :D :D :D
TNRabbit
Image

From FrankieD's lips to your ears: Sunfire - a quiet box of endless power.

Sunfire TG-IV/400~7 Amp
Carver SD/A-360 CDP
Benchmark DAC-1
Sony SACD/DVD-A
Active bi-amp: Ashly XR-1001 & 2 Rane PEQ-15s
Main: HotRodded AL-IIIs
Sub: Klipsch RT-12d
Center: Sunfire CRS-3c
Surround: Sunfire CRS-3 (x 2)

OconeeOrange wrote:"Gary likes to play it 'loud' as do I. His system begs you turn it up until you die"

RIP WIlliam B. Dibble, 1948-2012. I'll miss you my friend.
<<

rah

M-400t CUBE

Posts: 149

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:51 pm

Location: Houston TX

Post Tue Aug 23, 2011 11:52 am

Re: Sunfire TGP 1 remote questions

TNRabbit wrote:Most change those remotes out for the newer remote III as it's much more intuitive.

Image

I've never had one, but that can't be a good thing.

STOP DROPPING THE DAMN THING!!!!! :D :D :D

I just want it to do the basics, which it does well for me AS LONG AS THE DISPLAY STAYS ON!

I see that remote III does at least have a mute button.

I don't think mine does (or I can't find it).
My office (and only) system:
Sunfire Ultimate Receiver (thanks jjptkd!)
Sunfire Theater Grand Processor (with original remote!)
Carver TD-1770
Klipsch Chorus II's
Sony CA70ES 5-disc changer
Sony SACD 5-disc changer
<<

Scarabeo

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 2646

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:05 pm

Post Tue Aug 23, 2011 12:02 pm

Re: Sunfire TGP 1 remote questions

I've had (2) of the TGP-1 remotes and they never had those issues!
BillD, You will be forever with us! RIP until we meet again on the other side...
<<

rah

M-400t CUBE

Posts: 149

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:51 pm

Location: Houston TX

Post Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:25 pm

Re: Sunfire TGP 1 remote questions

Scarabeo wrote:I've had (2) of the TGP-1 remotes and they never had those issues!

So you're saying when batteries are put in it should power right up.

That's what I assume it should do.

Back to work on a backup plan.
My office (and only) system:
Sunfire Ultimate Receiver (thanks jjptkd!)
Sunfire Theater Grand Processor (with original remote!)
Carver TD-1770
Klipsch Chorus II's
Sony CA70ES 5-disc changer
Sony SACD 5-disc changer
<<

Scarabeo

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 2646

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:05 pm

Post Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:11 pm

Re: Sunfire TGP 1 remote questions

rah wrote:
Scarabeo wrote:I've had (2) of the TGP-1 remotes and they never had those issues!

So you're saying when batteries are put in it should power right up.
Scarabeo wrote: Yep!!! always did for my two remotes


That's what I assume it should do.

Back to work on a backup plan.
BillD, You will be forever with us! RIP until we meet again on the other side...
<<

rah

M-400t CUBE

Posts: 149

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:51 pm

Location: Houston TX

Post Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: Sunfire TGP 1 remote questions

Scarabeo wrote:
rah wrote:
Scarabeo wrote:I've had (2) of the TGP-1 remotes and they never had those issues!

So you're saying when batteries are put in it should power right up.
Scarabeo wrote: Yep!!! always did for my two remotes

Thanks!
My office (and only) system:
Sunfire Ultimate Receiver (thanks jjptkd!)
Sunfire Theater Grand Processor (with original remote!)
Carver TD-1770
Klipsch Chorus II's
Sony CA70ES 5-disc changer
Sony SACD 5-disc changer
<<

Scarabeo

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 2646

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:05 pm

Post Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:30 pm

Re: Sunfire TGP 1 remote questions

I now use the Remote III and find it a good one! But I have a Ultimate receiver now too not the TGP-1

TNRabbit wrote:
Image
BillD, You will be forever with us! RIP until we meet again on the other side...
<<

rah

M-400t CUBE

Posts: 149

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:51 pm

Location: Houston TX

Post Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Sunfire TGP 1 remote questions

Scarabeo wrote:I now use the Remote III and find it a good one! But I have a Ultimate receiver now too not the TGP-1

TNRabbit wrote:
Image

There seems to be an issue of backwards compatibility of Sunfire remotes working on the TGP 1. Beemers wasn't able to get the remote for a TGP 2 to work on a TGP 1 (he's got like 50 of them, so I know he'd like it to work).

Don't know if a Remote III will work for me. I'll just try to stick to the original type remote. In fact, I found another that I should have shortly. Hope this one will be 100% (if it makes it through shipping).
My office (and only) system:
Sunfire Ultimate Receiver (thanks jjptkd!)
Sunfire Theater Grand Processor (with original remote!)
Carver TD-1770
Klipsch Chorus II's
Sony CA70ES 5-disc changer
Sony SACD 5-disc changer
<<

Scarabeo

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 2646

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:05 pm

Post Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:56 pm

Re: Sunfire TGP 1 remote questions

rah wrote:There seems to be an issue of backwards compatibility of Sunfire remotes working on the TGP 1. Beemers wasn't able to get the remote for a TGP 2 to work on a TGP 1 (he's got like 50 of them, so I know he'd like it to work).

Don't know if a Remote III will work for me. I'll just try to stick to the original type remote. In fact, I found another that I should have shortly. Hope this one will be 100% (if it makes it through shipping).

I used a MX-500 on a TGP-1 and it worked perfect! I think the code was 232 but not 100% sure (Anyway) I know it works this way cause I did it. I am sure the remote III would work better.

http://www.remotecentral.com/mx500/index.html
BillD, You will be forever with us! RIP until we meet again on the other side...

Return to Carver Home (Audio)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2011 phpBB Group.