lights for tfm

Carver Home Audio (Stereo) Discussions and Questions
User avatar
Scarabeo
SILVER-7 TUBE AMP
Posts: 2608
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:05 pm

Re: lights for tfm

Post by Scarabeo » Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:42 pm

TNRabbit wrote:How to post pictures on this forum--

There are two ways:

1. Start your post, then click on the "Upload Attachment" tab at the bottom, then follow directions

2. Post your pics to a web photo host, such as Photobucket, Flickr, etc., then copy the link & paste into the body of your post, then highlight the link & click on the Img button above (between [*] & URL buttons).
I just did both ways you recommended to show how they come out!

Image Direct link from Imageshack.com is here with Img box above.

Attachment is below V
Attachments
meter 001.JPG
BillD, You will be forever with us! RIP until we meet again on the other side...

User avatar
mbskeam
(pair of) SILVER-7t's
Posts: 2164
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 2:32 am
Location: Woodinville Wa

Re: lights for tfm

Post by mbskeam » Fri Oct 21, 2011 5:37 pm

Mbskeam

SILVER 7's
Amazing Line Source
2 SVS PB16 SUBS
#1 BLACK BEAUTY's made by the man, the myth, the legend Bob Carver
CARVER: TFM-75, TFM-45(3), SD/A-490T
SUNFIRE: Tube pre
WTL Amadeus GTA+DV DRT XV-1t
2 sets of ALS'3, set of SILVERS, set of PLATS
AUDIOCONTROL: phase coupled activator
KENWOOD: BASIC M2a (2)

“Youth ages, immaturity is outgrown, ignorance can be educated, and drunkenness sobered, but stupid lasts forever.”
― Aristophanes

The only thing I'll feel......will be the RECOIL
Necronomicon Ex-Mortis....... Klaatu Barada Nikkto
"We should seek the greatest value of our action"

User avatar
WhackJob
M-400t CUBE
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 6:25 pm
Location: Canada

Re: lights for tfm

Post by WhackJob » Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:18 pm

Yeah - I'm dumb...

Anyway..added blue LEDs to a TFM-35X recently, 960 ohm resistors and a bit of 'ingenuity'
Attachments
InRack.jpg
InRack.jpg (52.95 KiB) Viewed 1602 times

Mr. M-500t
(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs
Posts: 6129
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 10:00 pm

Re: lights for tfm

Post by Mr. M-500t » Sun Oct 23, 2011 9:47 am

Looking good, Whackjob ! =D> =D> =D>

User avatar
kingman
(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs
Posts: 6359
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:10 pm
Location: Upstate South Carolina

Re: lights for tfm

Post by kingman » Sun Oct 23, 2011 10:17 am

Kool!!!! 8)
In reality, it only matters what it sounds like to YOU!!!

tfmman
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: lights for tfm

Post by tfmman » Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:33 pm

WHy do I need a resistor? what will happen if I don't use a resietor? tnx

User avatar
Scarabeo
SILVER-7 TUBE AMP
Posts: 2608
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:05 pm

Re: lights for tfm

Post by Scarabeo » Wed Nov 09, 2011 4:20 am

tfmman wrote:WHy do I need a resistor? what will happen if I don't use a resietor? tnx
Because if you don't add a Resister you will not be able to resist doing this LED shit on everything!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Ok someone will post the "ACTUAL ANSWER" but I could not resist....
BillD, You will be forever with us! RIP until we meet again on the other side...

User avatar
TNRabbit
R.I.P. Friend
R.I.P. Friend
Posts: 13360
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:53 am
Location: TN Native Languishing in VA
Contact:

Re: lights for tfm

Post by TNRabbit » Wed Nov 09, 2011 6:53 am

tfmman wrote:WHy do I need a resistor? what will happen if I don't use a resietor? tnx
You'll burn up the LED & possibly fry your circuit. LEDs are usually about 3.2-3.5 volts & that's a 12-volt circuit. They are also extremely low resistance & present a difficult load to the circuit.

The resistor dops everything dowm to a more manageable level. The value of the resistor needed depends on the circuit & the LED(s).
TNRabbit
Image

From FrankieD's lips to your ears: Sunfire - a quiet box of endless power.

Sunfire TG-IV/400~7 Amp
Carver SD/A-360 CDP
Benchmark DAC-1
Sony SACD/DVD-A
Active bi-amp: Ashly XR-1001 & 2 Rane PEQ-15s
Main: HotRodded AL-IIIs
Sub: Klipsch RT-12d
Center: Sunfire CRS-3c
Surround: Sunfire CRS-3 (x 2)

OconeeOrange wrote:"Gary likes to play it 'loud' as do I. His system begs you turn it up until you die"

RIP WIlliam B. Dibble, 1948-2012. I'll miss you my friend.

tfmman
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: lights for tfm

Post by tfmman » Wed Nov 09, 2011 9:55 am

I purchesed 12 volt leds for a car so they should work without a resistor is that coorect? tnx

User avatar
BillD
R.I.P. Friend
R.I.P. Friend
Posts: 7126
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: The west's most mid-western town, Scottsdale, Arizona

Re: lights for tfm

Post by BillD » Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:05 am

If the voltage is 12V, they should work, yes.

Calculating the value of the current limiting resistor is a simple application of Ohms law. An LED is a current driven device, which means its brightness varies by how much current is passing through it. However, too much voltage will "push" too much current through the device, and a resistor is used to lower this "pressure".

Image

The two specs you need from the LED are it operating voltage (drop) and its current requirement, which are usually easy to find on the spec sheet.
It should sound like it isn't there!
There is a difference between hearing and listening...
Making life enjoyable through expensive electronics.
_________________
Carver: C-4000 & C-1 preamps, PSC-60 preamp/tuner, TX-11a tuner, M-400 (2), C-500, M-500, M-500t, M-500t Mk.II, A-500x, AL-III loudspeakers (2 pr.)
Sunfire:Theater Grand III processor, Ultimate Receiver, Cinema Grand Signature 400 ~ seven, True Subwoofer Mk. II, D-10 Subwoofer

tfmman
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: lights for tfm

Post by tfmman » Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:27 am

K tnx I just double checked ny leds the specs say they have the risistor on them for 9 to 12 volts souldered inline so I checked one and they do have a resistor inline on the wire. tnx

fixj
Newbie 50+
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:07 am

Re: lights for tfm

Post by fixj » Sun Nov 13, 2011 1:09 pm

have two TFM amps without lights.....both meters went at the same time,, is that usual? or is my problem something other than bulbs?

User avatar
mbskeam
(pair of) SILVER-7t's
Posts: 2164
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 2:32 am
Location: Woodinville Wa

Re: lights for tfm

Post by mbskeam » Sun Nov 13, 2011 2:00 pm

pop the top, check the voltage at the light board plug
Mbskeam

SILVER 7's
Amazing Line Source
2 SVS PB16 SUBS
#1 BLACK BEAUTY's made by the man, the myth, the legend Bob Carver
CARVER: TFM-75, TFM-45(3), SD/A-490T
SUNFIRE: Tube pre
WTL Amadeus GTA+DV DRT XV-1t
2 sets of ALS'3, set of SILVERS, set of PLATS
AUDIOCONTROL: phase coupled activator
KENWOOD: BASIC M2a (2)

“Youth ages, immaturity is outgrown, ignorance can be educated, and drunkenness sobered, but stupid lasts forever.”
― Aristophanes

The only thing I'll feel......will be the RECOIL
Necronomicon Ex-Mortis....... Klaatu Barada Nikkto
"We should seek the greatest value of our action"

Post Reply

Return to “Carver Home (Audio)”