FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:04 pm

PM1400 - ok to use 'Dual Mono' mode with only one channel?

<<

gblick

Newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 3:10 pm

Post Fri Apr 16, 2004 3:41 pm

PM1400 - ok to use 'Dual Mono' mode with only one channel?

I have a PM1400 power amp that I'm using in my bass guitar rig.
I've always used it in stereo with a stereo preamp (Alembic F-2B).

I've just started using the PM1400 in Dual Mono mode with an 8 ohm cabinet connected to each output channel.

But there are times when I don't need to use both cabinets and only want to use one cabinet.

Would it be ok to leave the PM1400 in dual mono mode and then just plug a cabinet into one channel as long as I turn down the level control on the channel that I'm not using? I don't want to have to take out the input board and flip the switch every time I want to change from one cabinet to two (or vice-versa).

I know that you should never run tube amps without a load connected but since the Carver PM1400 is solid state I thought it would be ok to do this, but I wanted to check first. I called and e-mailed CarverPro's tech support but haven't heard back from them.

Thanks,
Gus
<<

gblick

Newbie

Posts: 4

Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 3:10 pm

Post Fri Apr 16, 2004 6:04 pm

It's cool, I got an answer from CarverPro's tech support.

"No problem, just turn the level control down for whichever channel you are not using."

Moderators feel free to delete this thread if you wish.

-Gus

Return to Carver Home (Audio)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB © 2011 phpBB Group.