M500T

Carver Home Audio (Stereo) Discussions and Questions
Post Reply
reactor
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 9:25 am

M500T

Post by reactor » Sun May 02, 2004 9:28 am

Can the Carver M500T be bridged into 4ohms?? I have a sub I want to power up but I am not sure if my amp will do 4ohms.....

George

Post by George » Sun May 02, 2004 11:13 am

Once you decide to use the amp in bridged mode, you're better off sticking to 8 ohm loads.

reactor
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 9:25 am

Post by reactor » Sun May 02, 2004 1:03 pm

Really?? So I guess I better wait until i get a proper amp..

Thanks

AH

reactor
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 9:25 am

Post by reactor » Mon May 03, 2004 5:39 pm

George? M500 Owners

If I hook the sub up to , say the left side, will the amp be working at a 4ohm load..I read somewhere that the M500T will run at 500 watts per channel at 4 ohms...

Thanks

AH

George

Post by George » Tue May 04, 2004 8:16 pm

If you're talking about using only one channel while in stereo mode to drive a 4 ohm sub, I don't see a problem with that. Only a problem driving 4 ohm loads when in bridged mode.

I'm not sure that problem is relegated to Carver amps only.

User avatar
F1nut
SILVER-7 TUBE AMP
Posts: 4491
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 3:31 am
Location: The Mars Hotel

Post by F1nut » Tue May 04, 2004 11:07 pm

No, it's not only Carver amps. I could be wrong on this, but I believe it applies to all bridged amps.
Political Correctness...defined

A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.



In a recent press conference, President Obama remarked, "If I had a city, it would look just like Detroit."

Post Reply

Return to “Carver Home (Audio)”