Can be bridged mono?

Carver Home Audio (Stereo) Discussions and Questions
Post Reply
Dr. Seuss
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 2:58 pm
Location: NC

Can be bridged mono?

Post by Dr. Seuss » Wed Dec 08, 2004 9:15 am

I was thinking (actually more like hoping) that I could use the MONO out with an RCA "Y" cable and connect it to the L and R ins on the Carver. I guess what you are saying is that even if I did that, the sound coming out of the Carver would still just be in MONO. Listed in the specs/details of the Carver amp is a statement that it "can be bridged MONO." What does this mean?

User avatar
F1nut
SILVER-7 TUBE AMP
Posts: 4491
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 3:31 am
Location: The Mars Hotel

Post by F1nut » Wed Dec 08, 2004 10:50 am

It means that if you bridge the amp it becomes a mono block amp, if you want stereo then you will need two of them, both bridged to mono. However, you can not use your current receiver as a pre amp because it does not have pre outs.
Political Correctness...defined

A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.



In a recent press conference, President Obama remarked, "If I had a city, it would look just like Detroit."

Post Reply

Return to “Carver Home (Audio)”