FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:56 pm

HELP! Still have a slight hum/buzz

<<

TFM Carmine

User avatar

Newbie 50+

Posts: 70

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:29 pm

Post Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: HELP! Still have a slight hum/buzz

You may need the Jensen Transformers: Model VRD-1FF ground loop hum eliminator, http://www.jensen-transformers.com/iso_vid.html I bought 1 because I had the same hum/buzz from my cable box. Your cable wire is grounded by your cable company before the wire enters our homes, therefore you need to eliminate the ground because it causes ground loop hum/buzz, this device fixed mine.
CT-29v,TFM-55, PM 1200
<<

Zoot Horn

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 3069

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 7:26 pm

Location: 4th Tower of Inverness

Post Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:00 pm

Re: HELP! Still have a slight hum/buzz

If you disconnect the cable from your dish--is everyhting good then?

If so,,let me know,,I might have an answer/solution.
<<

angelod307

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 2693

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:56 pm

Location: manning, sc

Post Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:52 pm

Re: HELP! Still have a slight hum/buzz

hello. i had a simular problem with time warner's cable box. this is what i used, and the problem dissappeared 100% :


http://www.amazon.com/VSIS-EU-Cable-Gro ... =8-1-spell
CarverFest: I just go for the arts and crafts
<<

helicopterpilotdoug

User avatar

SILVER-7t

Posts: 1890

Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:04 pm

Location: Austin TX

Post Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:04 am

Re: HELP! Still have a slight hum/buzz

angelod307 Thanks for bringing this thread back from the dead. I thought I'd posted about what it turned out to be, but apparently never did. I had Direct TV come out, and the tech replaced all the cable coming down from the dish. This took care of my hum problem. Last month I hooked up the Sat box in the bedroom only to have the same hum start up again from the HI FI system in the living room. Direct TV came back out on Christmas Eve and the tech replaced the cable going to that bedroom. Still had the hum. Then he replaced a connection block where all the cables connect and then go up to the dish. Still had the hum. The tech then tried another Sat. box. Viola!! No more hum. Apparently the box in the bedroom was causing this latest hum. Anyway, now all is well, and no more hum. :D
Sunfire: Theater Grand IV, Cinema Grand Signature.
Carver: TFM-45, PST-24 Cassette, Extra Carver Gear: CT-6, C-11 (S/N 00001).
Polk Audio: Mains SRS 2.1TL, Center CSiA6, Surrounds FXiA6 and FXiA4, Sub DSW MicroPro 1000, Extra Speakers SDA 2A, SDA 2Btl, Monitor 10A.
Turntable: Dual CS 714Q
Bluray/SACD: Oppo BDP 83SE
CD: Sony 330 300 Disk changer

http://www.douglasconnection.com
<<

Zoot Horn

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 3069

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 7:26 pm

Location: 4th Tower of Inverness

Post Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:04 am

Re: HELP! Still have a slight hum/buzz

angelod307 wrote:hello. i had a simular problem with time warner's cable box. this is what i used, and the problem dissappeared 100% :


http://www.amazon.com/VSIS-EU-Cable-Gro ... =8-1-spell


yep-- I had the same issues--I used the same thing--IIRC I got mine off e-bay a few years ago,,Jenzen IIRC.
<<

jjptkd

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 2884

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:50 pm

Location: Snohomish, WA

Post Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:24 am

Re: HELP! Still have a slight hum/buzz

I'm glad you got it worked out. It's extremely annoying to have hum / noise issues in your sound system. I've lucked out some how, the house I'm in now was built in 1901 and was re-wired in the '60s with only a 100 amp panel but surprisingly I've only had a couple amplifiers create a ground loop hum in my system, otherwise it's dead quiet.
Sunfire TGP-III
Sunfire 600x2
PS Audio DL-III DAC
Klipsch "mini" Chorus II's
Klipsch RSW 15
<<

Scarabeo

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 2646

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:05 pm

Post Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:52 pm

Re: HELP! Still have a slight hum/buzz

Zoot Horn wrote:
angelod307 wrote:hello. i had a simular problem with time warner's cable box. this is what i used, and the problem dissappeared 100% :


http://www.amazon.com/VSIS-EU-Cable-Gro ... =8-1-spell


yep-- I had the same issues--I used the same thing--IIRC I got mine off e-bay a few years ago,,Jenzen IIRC.

=D> =D> =D>

I worked for Time Warner Cable before falling off a Telephone Pole and Bashing in my Brain :cry:

So that is whats wrong with me if anyone ask :badgrin:
BillD, You will be forever with us! RIP until we meet again on the other side...
Previous

Return to Carver Home (Theater)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB © 2011 phpBB Group.