FAQ  •  Register   •  Gallery •  Login

It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 11:06 am

Loud 'Pop" on CT-6 Preamp when switching input source

<<

jjptkd

User avatar

SILVER-7 TUBE AMP

Posts: 2857

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:50 pm

Location: Snohomish, WA

Post Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:59 pm

Re: Loud 'Pop" on CT-6 Preamp when switching input source

Send it back and chew that guys ass! :x No sense it takin' in someone else's garbage and payin' 'em to do so!! [-( Lots of good working units out fairly cheap.
Sunfire TGP-III
Sunfire 200x5
Klipsch KP 250 II
Samson SX3200 (750x2 Sub Amp)
(2) 18" Klipsch KP 480 Subs
Klipsch RSW 15
PS Audio DL-III DAC
<<

kingman

User avatar

(pair of) SILVER-7 TUBE AMPs

Posts: 5531

Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:10 pm

Location: Upstate South Carolina

Post Fri Nov 25, 2011 4:59 am

Re: Loud 'Pop" on CT-6 Preamp when switching input source

I'm in total agreement. Get your money back and buy another before you DO regret it!
In reality, it only matters what it sounds like to YOU!!!
<<

radioeng2

User avatar

TFM-75

Posts: 865

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:06 pm

Location: E TN

Post Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:09 pm

Re: Loud 'Pop" on CT-6 Preamp when switching input source

This usually would indicate that DC is present where it shouldn't be. Likely a bad blocking cap. If one's bad, then it's time for all of them to be replaced.

So with a little circuit knowledge, a volt meter and a less than a $5 cap, it might be fixed. On the other hand, whatever the going rate is for a shop to do a full run thru is the other end of the spectrum. Someone that's had that done could better put a price on that than I can, but what...probably $150-200?

Mark

PS...yes, you should be concerned about spkr damage!

Return to CARVER Equipment Repair/Help Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2011 phpBB Group.