PM-300 bridged at 4 ohms?

Carver Pro Equipment Discussions and Questions
Post Reply
Thud
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 4:51 pm

PM-300 bridged at 4 ohms?

Post by Thud » Mon May 21, 2012 4:59 pm

Hello,

I just dug my PM-300 out of storage and I am wondering if it can be bridged at 4 ohms. The manual only gives the power rating for bridging at 8 ohms, but it also says that each channel can be run at 2 ohms, which leads me to think that it might be able to handle being bridged at 4ohms. Does anyone here know for sure?

I am wanting to use it with a bass guitar preamp and at the moment, I only have a 4 ohm cabinet.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks!

User avatar
TNRabbit
R.I.P. Friend
R.I.P. Friend
Posts: 13360
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:53 am
Location: TN Native Languishing in VA
Contact:

Re: PM-300 bridged at 4 ohms?

Post by TNRabbit » Mon May 21, 2012 7:45 pm

Give it a try ....if it's too much, it will just shut down~
TNRabbit
Image

From FrankieD's lips to your ears: Sunfire - a quiet box of endless power.

Sunfire TG-IV/400~7 Amp
Carver SD/A-360 CDP
Benchmark DAC-1
Sony SACD/DVD-A
Active bi-amp: Ashly XR-1001 & 2 Rane PEQ-15s
Main: HotRodded AL-IIIs
Sub: Klipsch RT-12d
Center: Sunfire CRS-3c
Surround: Sunfire CRS-3 (x 2)

OconeeOrange wrote:"Gary likes to play it 'loud' as do I. His system begs you turn it up until you die"

RIP WIlliam B. Dibble, 1948-2012. I'll miss you my friend.

Thud
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: PM-300 bridged at 4 ohms?

Post by Thud » Mon May 21, 2012 7:51 pm

Well I guess that's one way to find out!

You don't think it would do permanent damage if it shut itself down under these conditions?

User avatar
TNRabbit
R.I.P. Friend
R.I.P. Friend
Posts: 13360
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:53 am
Location: TN Native Languishing in VA
Contact:

Re: PM-300 bridged at 4 ohms?

Post by TNRabbit » Mon May 21, 2012 8:27 pm

Well, it has built-in protection circuits.....what exactly do you plan to do with it? That first scene from "Back To The Future" with Marty McFly turning the amp all the way up comes to mind....

You might try starting slow & gradually increasing volume to see what happens. Listen for signs of distress or distortion.
TNRabbit
Image

From FrankieD's lips to your ears: Sunfire - a quiet box of endless power.

Sunfire TG-IV/400~7 Amp
Carver SD/A-360 CDP
Benchmark DAC-1
Sony SACD/DVD-A
Active bi-amp: Ashly XR-1001 & 2 Rane PEQ-15s
Main: HotRodded AL-IIIs
Sub: Klipsch RT-12d
Center: Sunfire CRS-3c
Surround: Sunfire CRS-3 (x 2)

OconeeOrange wrote:"Gary likes to play it 'loud' as do I. His system begs you turn it up until you die"

RIP WIlliam B. Dibble, 1948-2012. I'll miss you my friend.

User avatar
thuffman03
!! CarverFest Evictee !!
Posts: 2701
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:07 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: PM-300 bridged at 4 ohms?

Post by thuffman03 » Tue May 22, 2012 8:35 am

I bet it will work just fine. Those amps are built to take a beeting and keep on playing.
Some cool Carver stuff!

Post Reply

Return to “Carver Pro”